The continents are large portions of land immersed limited by seas and oceans. The configuration of the continents is the result of the movement of the tectonic plates, which is related to the geological history of the planet Earth.

American continent

The American continent is a portion of land bathed by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west. These are two continental blocks to the north and south joined by an isthmus (small strip of land located between two seas). With a population of almost one billion inhabitants and a territorial area of ​​42,549.00 km², America is the second largest continent (behind Asia only) and has 14.2% of the world population. In all, there are 35 independent countries and 16 colonies.

African continent

The African continent is the third largest in the world and the second with the most inhabitants. It is basically an agrarian continent, as around 63% of the population live in rural areas, while only 37% live in cities.

European continent

According to Trackaah, Europe is a continent bordering Asia in the east; it is bathed by the Arctic Glacial Ocean, to the north; across the Atlantic to the east; and across the Mediterranean and Black Seas to the south, bordering the Middle East across the Bosphorus Strait (see map). It is located entirely in the northern hemisphere of the planet and, at the same time, in the western and eastern hemispheres. Because it is geographically “glued” to Asia, many refer to this continental bloc as Eurasia. See more on Countryaah.

Mainland Oceania

Oceania is a continent located in Southeast Asia, bathed by the Indian and Pacific oceans. It is the smallest among the continents, the most isolated and, therefore, the last to be discovered and conquered by the Europeans, being therefore called “brand new world”.

Asian continent

The Asian continent is the largest and most populous continent in the world. There are 4.3 billion inhabitants spread over 44.479.000 km² and 50 countries, also presenting the highest demographic densities (number of inhabitants per km²) on the planet. It is bathed by three oceans: on the east by the Pacific, on the north by the Arctic Glacier and on the south by the Indian Ocean. In its western portion, in addition to bordering Europe, it is also bordered by the Mediterranean Sea and the Red Sea.

Antarctic continent

This 14 million km2 continent surrounds the South Pole and is surrounded by the Southern Ocean, which lies between the Pacific Ocean and the Atlantic. Due to the intense cold with violent winds, this region, permanently covered by ice, has unfavorable conditions for almost every way of life, however, penguins live there, looking for their food in the sea, seals and also a large number of whales.

World Countries 10


The oceans are large stretches of salt water that cover 70.8% of the Earth’s surface, surrounding and separating the continents. There are four oceans: the Pacific Ocean, the Atlantic Ocean, the Arctic Indian and Glacial Ocean and the Antarctic Glacial.

Pacific Ocean

The Pacific Ocean is the largest and oldest maritime mass on the planet. Covering 180 million km², the Pacific covers almost a third of the globe’s surface and corresponds to almost half of the surface and volume of the oceans. The Pacific Ocean is the ocean with the highest average depth (4,280 m) and where the largest submarine pits are located (Fossa das Marianas, with approximately 11,500 meters).

Indian Ocean

The Indian Ocean is the third largest ocean in the world. It covers an area of ​​73,440,000 km² covering all coastal countries in eastern and northeastern Africa, the southern coastal nations of Asia from the Arabian Peninsula to western Southeast Asia, Indonesia, plus the northwest, west and south of Australia. Its average depth is 3,890 meters and the deepest point is the Java Trench, 7,725 meters below sea level, located in the south of Indonesia. The Indian Ocean is believed to have arisen in the Mesozoic Era, as a result of the division of the super continent Gondwana, having been the last ocean to form.

Atlantic Ocean

The Atlantic Ocean is located between America (west) and Africa and Europe (east). It is the second largest ocean in the world by extension, covering 80 million square kilometers. The name Atlantic comes from the name Atlas (Titan of Greek mythology). Its waters cover approximately 20% of the Earth’s surface.

Open sea

The Seas, in general, are parts or extensions of the Oceans and are close to the Continents. Located off the coast, these seas communicate directly with the ocean. Open sea is a type of sea that has a direct connection with the ocean. We can cite as an example the North Sea in Europe, the China Sea and the Antilles Sea in Central America.

Closed Sea

A Closed Sea occurs when there is a sea within a continental portion and has no connection to an ocean. The closed seas, in most cases are explained by past geological phenomena, and are fed by rivers that have their mouth in the closed sea.

The 50 smallest exporters in the world

Rank Country Exports ($)
1 Nauru (Australia-Oceania) 50,000
2 Sao Tome and Principe (Africa) 9,600,000
3 East Timor (Asia) 11,000,000
4 Comoros (Africa) 41,000,000
5 Eritrea (Africa) 42,600,000
6 Burundi (Africa) 67,000,000
7 Cape Verde (Africa) 85,400,000
8 Dominica (North America) 106,000,000
9 Rwanda (Africa) 112,000,000
10 Gambia (Africa) 148,000,000
11 Maldives (Asia) 152,000,000
12 Andorra (Europe) 159,000,000
13 Falkland Islands (South America) 163,000,000
14 Guinea-Bissau (Africa) 178,000,000
15 Barbados (North America) 220,000,000
16 Seychelles (Africa) 344,000,000
17 Somalia (Africa) 355,000,000
18 Laos (Asia) 392,000,000
19 Belize (North America) 396,000,000
20 Malawi (Africa) 422,000,000
21 Haiti (North America) 441,000,000
22 Djibouti (Africa) 460,000,000
23 Afghanistan (Asia) 504,000,000
24 American Samoa (Australia-Oceania) 564,000,000
25 Faroe Islands (Europe) 607,000,000
26 Guyana (South America) 614,000,000
27 Guinea (Africa) 643,000,000
28 Ethiopia (Africa) 647,000,000
29 Albania (Europe) 746,000,000
30 Lesotho (Africa) 770,000,000
31 Armenia (Asia) 830,000,000
32 Togo (Africa) 849,000,000
33 Kyrgyzstan (Asia) 872,000,000
34 Nepal (Asia) 874,000,000
35 Uganda (Africa) 912,000,000
36 Benin (Africa) 944,000,000
37 Moldova (Europe) 1,070,000,000
38 Tajikistan (Asia) 1,070,000,000
39 Fiji (Australia-Oceania) 1,077,000,000
40 Madagascar (Africa) 1,083,000,000
41 Mauritania (Africa) 1,154,000,000
42 Cyprus (Europe) 1,312,000,000
43 New Caledonia (Australia-Oceania) 1,362,000,000
44 Korea, Democratic People’s Republic (Asia) 1,420,000,000
45 Lebanon (Asia) 1,579,000,000
46 Swaziland (Africa) 1,682,000,000
47 Senegal (Africa) 1,689,000,000
48 Jamaica (North America) 1,720,000,000
49 Georgia (Asia) 1,822,000,000
50 Mozambique (Africa) 1,830,000,000
In the context of national accounts, export is the amount of goods delivered by one economy to other economies.