Africa Asia Europe North America South America Oceania
You are here: Home > Oceania


Oceania is the collective name for the islands in the Pacific Ocean between the Americas in the east and the Philippines and Australia in the west. The islands are mostly of volcanic origin or coral islands or atolls. A distinction is made between three metropolitan areas of Oceania according to the ethnic characteristics of their inhabitants: Melanesia, Micronesia and Polynesia. Tourism is an important source of income for the mostly economically weakly developed countries.

In the huge area of ​​around 70 million km², which stretches 12,500 km from the Palau Islands to Easter Island and 7,500 km from the Midway Islands to New Zealand, are tens of thousands of islands, of which only the 7,500 larger ones have their own names have (Photo 1).
The islands of the Indonesian archipelago, the Hawaiian and Galapagos Islands are generally not counted among Oceania.

Natural space

Military of OceaniaThe total land area of ​​all islands covers 1.3 million km². Most of the islands are volcanic islands. Many of the islands of volcanic origin rising steeply from the ocean are protected by coral fringing reefs. In addition, there are numerous coral islands and atolls built up from the lime of dead marine organisms. Ring-shaped coral banks surround a lagoon near the atolls. The majority of these islands protrude only a few meters from the sea. They are therefore often unsuitable for settlement, but have “dream beaches” made of snow-white coral lime. Important exceptions are New Guinea and the two main islands of New Zealand.

Tropical and maritime climate prevails in Oceania, which is further tempered by cooling sea breezes. The trade winds coming from the north and south-east bring precipitation all year round. Under these conditions, the islands are mostly covered with lush vegetation, with the coconut palm being the undisputed leader among crops.

Oceania Population

Only about 2100 of the islands are inhabited. 13.3 million people live on them. The island world is divided into three large island groups according to the ethnicity of the peoples native to the islands (Fig. 1):

  • Melanesia ("Black Islands") were named after their inhabitants. Melanesia includes the islands that extend in an arc from the northeastern coast of New Guinea via the Solomon Islands and Vanuatu to the Fiji archipelago.
  • To Micronesia ( "small islands") are u. a. the Mariana Islands, the Caroline Islands, the Marshall Islands and Nauru and Kiribati. In the deep-sea trench of the same name in the Mariana Islands, the greatest depth to date was measured at 11022 m.
  • Polynesia ("Many islands") includes the countless islands within a triangle with the corner points of Hawaii, Easter Island and New Zealand. Within the triangle u. a. Samoa, Tonga and Tahiti.

Oceania Economy

The countries of Oceania are economically underdeveloped. According to Countryaah, the only exceptions are the larger and western states of New Zealand and Australia. Agriculture and fishing are of greater importance. Only a few countries have their own industry, which then mostly only processes fish and agricultural products. There are mineral resources on a few islands, e.g. B. on Kiribati and Nauru phosphate deposits, which are an important source of foreign exchange for the countries. In most countries, only tourism is really important.

The natural conditions of most islands are just calling for tourists: lots of sun, wide white beaches, crystal clear water, tranquility and exotic cultures with friendly people. Tourism is therefore the main source of income for these countries. However, the expansion of this economic sector is often hampered by a lack of infrastructure and excessive stress on the sensitive environment from tourism.

Oceania History

Almost nothing has survived from the early history of this area. However, it is believed that around 10000 BC BC the first and a few millennia later another migration of peoples from Asia to the area of ​​Oceania. It has also not yet been finally clarified whether the inhabitants of Oceania have made it to the west coast of South America and whether they have had any contact with the peoples there.

The first European to discover the island world was the Portuguese NUNEZ DE BALBO (1475-1519) in 1513. He gave her the name South Pacific.
JAMES COOK (1728–1779) deserves special mention among the seafarers who subsequently systematically opened up Oceania.

In 1828 the Netherlands became the first European country to claim sovereignty in Oceania. From 1842, France also declared its protectorate, a so-called "patronage" of colonial character, over a number of islands. This was the beginning of the colonial age in this part of the world. Colonization resulted in the demise of most of the traditional kingdoms on the islands. The only exception was the Kingdom of Tonga, over which only a British protectorate was established.

During the Second World War, Oceania was the theater of war. Japan in particular conquered many of the islands. After Japan's defeat, a number of islands were subsequently used by the USA and France as test areas for nuclear weapons, making them uninhabitable for a long time.

Decolonization began in 1962 when Western Samoa gained independence. He was followed in 1968 by Nauru, in 1970 Fiji, in 1975 Papua New Guinea, in 1978 the Solomon Islands and Tuvalu and in 1979 Kiribati into state independence.

At the end of the 20th century, 1990, the United Nations trust over the Marshall Islands, Micronesia and the Mariana Islands, with the exception of Guam, ended.

Micronesia History

Micronesia was probably populated from eastern Melanesia for approx. 3000 years ago. The Portuguese Diego da Rocha discovered two of the islands in 1527. The islands were named the Carolines after King Charles 2 of Spain in 1686. Spain took control of the islands in 1886 and sold them to Germany in 1899. Japan took over the islands in 1914; they were captured by US forces in 1944-45.

In 1947, the islands became a United Nations territory administered by the United States. The Carolines gained autonomy under the name Micronesia Federation in 1979.

On November 3, 1986, the islands became independent and became a sovereign state with an agreement on free association with the United States (Compact of Free Association); a revised agreement came into force in 2003 and will be valid until 2023.

Countries in Oceania
  1. Australia
  2. Fiji
  3. Kiribati
  4. Marshall Islands
  5. Micronesia
  6. Nauru
  7. New Zealand
  8. Palau
  9. Papua New Guinea
  10. Samoa
  11. Solomon Islands
  12. Tonga
  13. Tuvalu
  14. Vanuatu

Militarynous Copyright 2000 - 2020 All Rights Reserved